Sunday Randoms.

(wherein I unload any and all random stuff accumulating in the brain)

This coming week is my SNAP (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, aka food stamps) challenge for school: I’m to live and eat on a $29 food budget for the next seven days. $29 was the average benefit per person per week in TN as of FY2014. Think about that for a minute. $29 for an entire week. How can you eat healthy on that? $29 is the average amount I spend at the butcher every week. I’ve gotten to the point in my life where food is a glorious luxury; I love to cook, love to indulge, love to get fancy with it… and I haven’t had to operate within a strict budget for a long time. All the thoughts, feelings, and reactions that have already cropped up as a result of this challenge are interesting, to say the least. I’ll write more about it throughout the week, I’m sure.

It occurred to me last night that, when you date someone for a year (or close to it) and it ends, the first year after that can be a challenge. You’ve got a whole year ahead of you of being reminded where you were and what you were doing this time last year. That’s the space in which I’m finding myself these days; it’s making for a melancholy autumn, so far.

(Melancholy Autumn is my new band name. Or my new stage name, although that wouldn’t really bode well for an exciting performance, now, would it?)

And then there’s this lovely piece. I don’t know if it’s real or if someone made it up – I’m not sure I need to know, either. It’s just perfect. I met you in the rain on the last day of 1972.

Leave a Reply

