Quirks to your advantage.

When I was a freshman in high school, I (very, VERY briefly) dated a boy who wound up going to a juvenile detention center for a short stay. While he was there, he wrote me two love letters. Upon receipt of said love letters, I corrected them in red marker and gave them back for his review. I mean… his grammar and spelling were abhorrent. Where’s the romance in that?

Ever since moving back to Nashville, I’ve felt as though it’s my life’s work to “correct” the terrible drivers, either by using my horn (prolifically), wagging a finger, or giving a look (I’m good at those)… however I can best illustrate how WRONG people are being, and give them the opportunity to fix said behavior. I figure I’m doing the rest of the drivers a favor. Who knows what terrible thing that text-and-driver might do if I don’t show them the error of their ways, right?

All of this to say… one of my, uh, quirks? Character defects? Flaws? Growth opportunities? would have to be the self-righteous indignation (coupled with some real hypocrisy, if I’m being totally honest) and the desire to FIX I’m overwhelmed with when it comes to things that are important to me. Being safe and not having my life threatened by bad driving is important! The grammar and spelling thing… well, it’s just always been a thing. I’m much more forgiving with it these days, but it still matters to me. A lot.

I am, for lack of a better word, a follower of rules (a stomper of foot, a shaker of fist). But of course, they’re just the rules I choose to follow and value, right? *smirk*

What it all boils down to, in a positive spin, is providing structure and integrity; adhering to standards and established processes. Yes, it means I’m not as flexible or bendy as other people (WHO MOVED MY CHEESE) when it comes to allowing for errors, or even creativity… but it also means there are things towards which I can channel this “quirk” and turn it into a positive skill set.

Take, for instance, my current role as the onsite administrator for our agency’s EHR system. I’m there to: help with questions and training; set up new users and mark others inactive; provide the first line of defense when something breaks or goes wrong, or even just gives the appearance of going wrong. But I’m also there to provide guidance when it comes to the integrity of the data being entered. I keep an eye on the records being created, the encounters that are opened… all for the sake of ensuring that every piece of information entered is done so with consistency, uniformity, and efficiency. That EHR is my BABY, y’all. And I want every single thing that goes in there to be done correctly, and in the best possible way. That means process evaluation and improvement; it means providing ongoing training and education; and it means that sometimes it feels like nailing Jell-O to a wall.

But to me, it’s worth it. I LOVE this kind of stuff. I love making sure that the best info goes in, so that the best info comes back out – whether in the form of medical records, or reporting for grants… you name it. That system is a reflection on our agency’s work, and, by extension, a reflection of me, for as long as I’m part of the organization. Pride in ownership, certainly, but also pride in work and a job (hopefully, mostly) well done.

There are so many other areas where I’ve been able to take my not-so-secret anal retentive nature and applied it to a task or responsibility: creating an onboarding process for new hires so they all get the same intro, the same info, etc; reorganizing and paring down the shared drive, full of hundreds of random folders that were spiraling out of control; taking charge of the key card system to ensure that rules were implemented and followed for our building’s security… you get the idea.

And that’s how I know I’m doing the right kind of work. It’s empowering to realize that something I have often viewed as a flaw or “bad” part of myself is actually pretty darn useful. Letting my control freak flag fly high and proud over here (while still remaining open to the possibility that I might benefit from releasing my kung fu grip *just* a little. Maybe.).

As a co-worker once told me, after I offered to review an entire manual for spelling, grammar, and content issues… “I’m glad YOU care about this kind of thing!”

You know what? Me too!

Leave a Reply

